Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Westfield W-League Round 7 news

So I flagged it months ago on here and it seems like Katie Gill is finally back in the country and set to play for Perth Glory this weekend. Well according to the FFA snapshot they sent out yesterday, which suggests she will be a prime candidate to score the leagues 200th goal when it goes off this weekend. Which is very unlucky for Canberra as it seems to remind me very much of this time last year, when Gill stepped off the plane from Sweden straight onto the field for the Newcastle Jets and scored two excellent goals to hand the Jets a 2-1 win. Now she will be straight off a plane against Canberra again, except this time she'll be playing for Perth. It shall be a very interesting match-up at McKellar Park this weekend, so make sure you get down there Canberrans.

Other interesting tidbits ahead of this weekend's round courtesy of the FFA snapshot for Round 7,
Adelaide United v Central Coast Mariners
Saturday, 14 November 2009, Hindmarsh Stadium, 2.30pm local (3.00pm AEDT)
This is the Westfield W-League Match of the Round live and exclusive to ABC1 and ABC HD
After securing their first point in five matches last weekend, Adelaide United will now be aiming to record its first win in over a year – Adelaide’s last Westfield W-League victory was on 9 November 2008, a 3-2 win over Sydney FC

Sydney FC v Newcastle Jets
Saturday, 14 November 2009, Seymour Shaw, 4.00pm local
Newcastle are aiming to break an eight-match winless streak – the last time the Jets won a Westfield W-League match was on 20 December 2008, a 2-0 win over Sydney FC

Canberra United v Perth Glory
Saturday, 14 November 2009, McKellar Park, 5.00pm local
A strange record exists between Canberra United and Perth Glory – not only are they the only teams to have been involved in a 2-2 draw in the Westfield W-League, in fact, both previous matches between Canberra and Perth have ended 2-2

Brisbane Roar v Melbourne Victory
Saturday, 14 November 2009, Ballymore Stadium, 6.00pm local (7.00pm AEDT
Having remained undefeated for its 16 consecutive match, Brisbane Roar have now surpassed South Melbourne’s 16-match undefeated streak achieved in the 2000/01 NSL (men’s) season. The Roar is therefore aiming for its 17th undefeated match in a row - the last time a 17-match undefeated streak was attained in an Australian national football competition was in 1986/87, when Apia Leichhardt ultimately achieved a 22-match undefeated streak on its way to the 1987 national championship

No comments:

Post a Comment