Saturday, September 19, 2009

Is 17 the new 20?

Mariners announced their 17 players this week. Canberra United also look set to start the season with just 17. Each team is allowed to have 20. But anyway, it's enough to field a team and a bench and thankfully, that's all that matters. Mariners 17 below, notable omissions from last year are Kyah Simon and Ellyse Perry, although Perry didn't play many games due to her cricket committments last year anyway. Assume then that Simon is at Sydney FC after she decided not to come to Canberra?

Mariners 2009 W-League squad
Trudy Camilleri (midfielder), Ashleigh Connor (striker), Rachel Cooper (goal-keeper), Caitlin Cooper (defender), Rachael Doyle (defender), Caitlin Foord (striker), Gill Foster (midfielder), Lyndsay Glohe (defender), Kelly Golebiowski (striker), Michelle Heyman (striker), Jenna Kingsley (striker), Elizabeth O'Reilly (midfielder), Teresa Polias (midfielder), Renee Rollason (midfielder), Karina Roweth (midfielder), Jessica Seaman (defender), Britt Simmons (midfielder), Samanthan Spackman (defender).

The media release is here

No comments:

Post a Comment