Sunday, December 6, 2009

Westfield W-League Round 10 review

Well, what can I say? WOW! Didn't that kind of live-up to expectations as a cracking final round?

To start off with Sydney FC lived-up to their more impressive team on paper and claimed a 1-0 win over the Central Coast Mariners to take the league championship title. It's the first-time Sydney FC have been on top of the table this season. Then Brisbane Roar found itself some much needed form by putting six goals past Newcastle and set-up what will be an interesting semi-final against the Mariners.
And then, well then the night really started to get interesting.

Adelaide United really pushed Canberra United in Canberra, but a goal from a corner just before half-time and then a strong-finishing Canberra scored two in the last four minutes so that a 3-0 win kept their finals chances alive. But they had to hold their breath for almost four hours as they waited, and waited, and waited to see what the result between Perth and Melbourne would be. Thanks to the live gameday tracker at, (thanks Ann!), I was paying close attention. Then when Lisa de Vanna scored in the 81st minute, well, amazing for Canberra, how heart-breaking for Melbourne. But the strategy of playing de Vanna off the bench paid major dividends. Katie Gill then sealed Perth's win and Canberra's finals spot with her goal in the 87th minute.

But I think most importantly, I think that the fourth finals spot came down to goal difference and then Perth were just one-point behind that, it shows that across the league there is more depth this year. Because next week I think either Melbourne or Perth, well particulary Perth now they have Katie Gill, could have been just as capable of causing an upset as Canberra United.

SYDNEY FC 1 (Leena KHAMIS 35’) bt CENTRAL COAST MARINERS 0 at Bluetongue Stadium, Gosford.
Referee: Kate Jacewicz
Assistant referees: Liz Shorter and Katie Patterson
Fourth official: Laura Elliot
Central Coast Mariners line-up: 1. Jillian LOYDEN (gk), 3. Lyndsay GLOHE, 4. Rachael DOYLE, 5. Jessica SEAMAN (15. Elizabeth O'REILLY 77’), 9. Renee ROLLASON (c) (7. Teresa POLIAS 72’), 10. Kendall FLETCHER, 11. Michelle HEYMAN, 12. Samantha SPACKMAN, 14. Ashleigh CONNOR (13. Trudy CAMILLERI 60’), 16. Jenna KINGSLEY, 19. Lydia VANDENBERGH
Substitutes Not Used: 20. Rachel COOPER (gk)
Yellow Cards: Michelle HEYMAN 58’, Renee ROLLASON 59’, Jenna KINGSLEY 67’
Red Cards: Nil
Sydney FC line-up: 1. Nikola DEITER (gk), 2. Teigen ALLEN 4. Alesha CLIFFORD, 6. Servet UZUNLAR, 7. Heather GARRIOCK (c), 9. Sarah WALSH (18. Brittany WHITFIELD 90’+1), 10. Kylie LEDBROOK, 11. Cathrine PAASKE, 15. Kyah SIMON (12. Michelle CARNEY 90’+3), 16. Linda O’NEILL, 19. Leena KHAMIS (13. Catherine CANNULI 77’)
Substitutes Not Used: 20. Carla MONFORTE (gk)
Yellow Cards: Nil
Red Cards: Nil

BRISBANE ROAR 6 (Clare POLKINGHORNE 2’, Tameka BUTT 19’/26’/66’, Joanne BURGESS 81’, Lana HARCH 91’) bt NEWCASTLE JETS 0 at Wanderers Oval, Broadmeadows.
Referee: Kirralee Gardener
Assistant referees: Tanya De Boer and Catherine Nash
Fourth official: Penelope Nash
Newcastle Jets line-up: 1. Alison LOGUE (gk), 3. Pelay INGLES, 5. Stacey DAY (8. Bronte BATES 57’), 9. Kate HENSMAN, 10. Hayley CRAWFORD (c), 11. Carlie IKONOMOU, 13. Caitlin JARVIE (18. Leia SMITH 78’), 14. Hannah BREWER (17. Madeline SEARL 46’), 15. Renee CARTWRIGHT, 16. Kirstyn PEARCE, 19. Tara ANDREWS
Substitutes Not Used: Michelle GRIGG (gk)
Yellow Cards: Nil
Red Cards: Nil
Brisbane Roar line-up: 1. Casey DUMONT (gk) 2. Kate MCSHEA, 3. Karla REUTER 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 6. Joanne BURGESS, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 11. Aivi LUIK (12. Steph LATHAM 69’), 13. Tameka BUTT, 14.Sasha MCDONNELL (10.Lana HARCH 69’), 16. Lauren COLTHORPE, 19. Ellen BEAUMONT (7. Pam BIGNOLD 89’)
Substitutes Not Used: 20. Kate STEWART (gk)
Yellow Cards: Sasha MCDONNELL 49’
Red Cards: Nil

CANBERRA UNITED 3 (Ellie BRUSH 45’+1, Emily VAN EGMOND 86’, Ellyse PERRY 90’) bt ADELAIDE UNITED 0 at Deakin Oval, Canberra.
Referee: Peta McCallum
Assistant referees: Allyson Flynn and Brett Woodford
Fourth official: Gary Vandeburgt
Canberra United Line-up: 1. Lydia WILLIAMS, 2. Rebecca KITING, 3. Bronwyn STUDMAN (13. Thea SLATYER 51’), 5. Kahlia HOGG, 7. Ellie BRUSH (c), 8. Emily VAN EGMOND, 10. TSENG Shu O (12. Snez VELJANOVSKA 88’), 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 15. Nicole SYKES, 16. Ellyse PERRY, 19. Jennifer BISSET (9. Grace GILL 64’)
Substitutes Not Used: 20. Jocelyn MARA
Yellow Cards: Nil
Red Cards: Nil
Adelaide United line-up: 1.Sian McLAREN (gk), 3.Renee HARRISON, 5.Ashlee FAUL, 7.Racheal QUIGLEY, 8.Ruth WALLACE, 9.Angela FIMMANO (19. Nenita BURGESS 78’), 11.Georgia CHAPMAN (6.Thomai KEZIOS 86’), 13.Lauren CHILVERS, 15.Tenneille BOALER (12.Katerina BEXIS 65’), 16.Christina PAPAGEORGIOU (c), 17.Karina ROWETH
Substitutes Not Used: 20.Kristi HARVEY (gk)
Yellow Cards: Karina ROWETH 52’
Red Cards: Nil

PERTH GLORY 2 (Lisa DE VANNA 81’, Katie GILL 87’) bt MELBOURNE VICTORY 0 at Clipsal Stadium, Inglewood.
Referee: Lee Corey
Assistant referees: Josh Mihevc and Josh Manella
Fourth official: Steve Muldoon
Perth Glory line-up: 1. Emma WIRKUS (GK), 3. Carys HAWKINS, 4. Sam KERR, 5. Shannon MAY, 6. Ella MASTRANTONIO, 8. Tanya OXTOBY (C), 9. Dani CALAUTTI (11. Lisa DE VANNA 63’), 12. Katie GILL, 13. Elisa D’OVIDIO, 15. Alex SINGER, 17. Marianna TABAIN
Substitutes Not Used: 16. Sadie LAWRENCE, 18. Ellis GLANFIELD, 20. Zoe PALANDRI
Yellow Cards: Ella MASTRANTONIO 45’+1
Red Cards: Nil
Melbourne Victory line-up: 1. Melissa BARBIERI (gk), 2. Vedrana POPOVIC, 3. Marlies OOSTDAM, 4. Tal KARP (10. Deanna NICESKI 90’), 5. Laura ALLEWAY, 6. Maika RUYTER-HOOLEY, 8. Katie THORLAKSON, 11. Julianne SITCH, 12. Monnique HANSEN-KOFOED, 13. Katrina GORRY (9. Stephanie CATLEY 77’), 14. Selin KURALAY
Substitutes Not Used: 18. Ursula HUGHSON, 20. Nicole PAUL (gk)
Yellow Cards: Maika RUYTER-HOOLEY 51’, Katie THORLAKSON 90’+2
Red Cards: Nil

No comments:

Post a Comment